Marchlands is the gripping story of three different families living in the same house across three generations: the 1960s, 1980s and the present day. The families are linked by the spirit of a young girl, Alice - the daughter of the family that lived in the house in 1968, who died under mysterious circumstances. This distinctive contemporary drama stars an ensemble cast including Jodie Whittaker playing Ruth Bowen, the grieving mother in Marchlands 1968, who is struggling to cope with her difficult and dominating mother-in-law, and Alex Kingston as Helen Maynard, the mother of the 1980s family who becomes concerned by her daughter’s imaginary friend called Alice. As the atmospheric story weaves through the three generations of families up to the present day, the truth about what really happened to Alice emerges.

Select a season

Episodes Season 1

  • 1. Episode 1

    In 1968, Ruth and Paul Bowen live at remote house Marchlands with Paul's parents Robert and Evelyn. Ruth and Paul's daughter Alice recently drowned and Ruth is finding it impossible to move on.

  • 2. Episode 2

    In 1968 Ruth is determined to find out the truth regarding Alice’s death. In 1987 a resolute Helen and a wary Eddie take Amy to see a psychiatrist whilst in 2010 Mark arranges for a local woman to help out around the house for an increasingly spooked Nisha…

  • 3. Episode 3

    In 1968 Ruth and Paul fight following the discovery that they are unlikely to have any more children. Meanwhile, in 1987 Eddie unearths some details about Alice - could Amy’s ‘friend’ be real - a ghost? And in 2010 Nisha gives birth to a baby girl, and Ruth is disturbed to hear they’re going to name her Alice…

  • 4. Episode 4

    In 1968 Robert advises a distraught Paul to leave the village and make a fresh start with Ruth, whilst in 1987 Eddie and Helen are at still at loggerheads, and Amy goes missing. In 2010 an exhausted Nisha is ever more freaked out by strange goings-on in the house…

  • 5. Episode 5

    In 1968, Paul asks a tearful Ruth to leave Marchlands with him, whilst things come to a head between Robert and Evelyn. Meanwhile, in 1987 Eddie takes Amy to Alice’s grave. And in 2010 a devastated Ruth finally learns what happened to her daughter all those years ago.

Similar to this: